New Zealand beat India. (Source: BCCI)

In the 28th match of T20 WC, New Zealand defeated the Indian team badly by 8 wickets. Playing first after losing the toss, Team India’s batsmen disappointed and could only score 110/7 in 20 overs. Ravindra Jadeja remained the top scorer 26 not out. At the same time, 3 wickets came in Trent Boult’s account for the Kiwi team. The target of 111 runs was easily achieved by New Zealand at the loss of 2 wickets in the game of 14.3 overs. Click here to see match score

Darrell Mitchell 49 was the best performance in T20Is.
Kane Williamson scored 33 not out off 31 balls.
This was India’s third consecutive defeat against NZ in the T20 World Cup.
Hardik Pandya spent 17 runs while bowling in two overs.
Ish Sodhi, who took 2 wickets, was the man of the match.

Chasing the target, the Kiwi team had a poor start and in the fourth over, Jasprit Bumrah got Martin Guptill for 20 runs and gave the team the first breakthrough. However, after this Darrell Mitchell and Kane Williamson did not give India a chance to return and added 72 runs in 54 balls for the second wicket. Bumrah also took the wicket of Mitchell 49.

Now Team India will have to win in the coming three matches. If this happens then India will have 6 points. In this situation, to reach the semi-finals, India will have to depend on the outcome of the matches between the other teams, especially the New Zealand-Afghanistan match.

India will have to pray that Afghanistan’s team also beats New Zealand, but loses to India. India would then go on to win by a large margin against Namibia and Scotland to improve their net runs better than both New Zealand and Afghanistan. In this situation, the Indian team can reach the semi-finals even after losing to New Zealand.

Playing first after losing the toss, India had a poor start and in the third over, Ishan Kishan was dismissed by Trent Boult after scoring only (4) runs. After Kishan was dismissed, Adam Milne dropped a simple catch of Rohit Sharma on the very next ball. In the sixth over, Tim Southee got the second blow to Team India by dismissing KL Rahul (18). Rohit Sharma also could not take advantage of the lifeline received on zero and was dismissed after scoring (14) off Ish Sodhi. Sodhi broke India’s back by dismissing Captain Kohli (9) in his very next over.

Rishabh Pant (12) also failed to play a big innings and was bowled by Adam Milne. The Indian team expected an explosive innings from Hardik Pandya, but his bat saw only 23 runs in 24 balls. The Indian team expected an explosive innings from Hardik Pandya, but his bat saw only 23 runs in 24 balls. Pandya’s wicket came in Boult’s account. In the same over, Boult dismissed Shardul Thakur for zero. Ravindra Jadeja played an unbeaten innings of 26 runs in 19 balls.

This was the second time after 2013 when Rohit did not come to open even after being in the playing XI.
KL Rahul is playing his 50th T20I match.
Till the powerplay, India’s score was 35 runs for the loss of 2 wickets.
Half of India’s team returned to the pavilion on the score of 70.
110/7 This was India’s second lowest score in T20Is against NZ.
Trent Boult completed his 50 wickets in T20Is.

In 2003, Team India defeated New Zealand for the last time in any ICC event. The Indian team was expected to end this drought that has been going on for 18 years in this match, but even today it was disappointing at the hands of India. In the semi-final (2019) of the last ODI World Cup and the final (2021) of the World Test Championship, India was defeated by New Zealand. Also, this was India’s third consecutive defeat against New Zealand in T20 WC.

After the defeat against Pakistan, Team India has made two major changes in the playing XI. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was not found in the team today. Shardul Thakur has been given a chance in his place. At the same time, Ishan Kishan, who is in excellent form, also got a place in the playing XI. He has come in the team in place of Surya Kumar Yadav. At the same time, New Zealand has made a change in their team. Adam Milne came in place of Tim Seifert.

Virat Kohli lost the toss for the fifth time in a row. Also, in 21 matches of international cricket against New Zealand, Kohli lost the toss for the 17th time.