Australia beat New Zealand. (Source: Twitter)

This T20 World Cup proved that there is no fixed formula to win. Most of the experts were not even counting Australia as a favorite. On the contrary, every decision of this team turned out to be a jackpot. He came into the World Cup after losing five T20Is in a row, but he is very clever and often rests players for T20 matches in the two-team series. Know the top 6 facts that have made Australia the world champion in T20 as well:

New Zealand have never beaten Australia in a big match of a multi-nation tournament since 1981. Since then the two teams have played each other 17 times, with Australia winning all of them.

Australia got a wicket before the match, Conway broke his hand while punching his own bat and weakened New Zealand’s middle order. The lack of quick runs in the middle order (only 78 runs in 73 balls against the captain’s 177+ strike rate compared to the rest of the batsmen and a point when there was no boundary shot in 32 balls) became the major reason for the defeat.

David Warner became a great example of this. Warner was also thrown out of the team by Sunrisers Hyderabad during the IPL but showed his class when the team needed it the most. One of the greatest T20 batsmen in history, Warner regained form. Warner scored two half-centuries in two matches in the Super 12, a quick 49 in the semi-final and a 38-ball 53 in the final.

Zampa impressed throughout the tournament and took 13 wickets in 7 matches in the tournament. Putting Pakistan under pressure by taking 1-22 in the middle overs in the semi-finals and giving away just 26 runs in 4 overs in the final and also took the precious wicket of Guptill.

Both Australia and New Zealand won the toss and elected to field first and won their respective semi-finals. The pre-final record was – in all 9 night matches in Dubai, the team batting second has won. In such a situation, Australia won the precious toss and chose to field, the rest is history. Australia won the toss 6 out of 7 times in the tournament and won each time chasing the target.