Jaffna Stallions won. (Source: Twitter)

Jaffna Stallions registered a place in the final of the LPL 2020 after beating Dambulla Viiking by 37 runs in Hambantota on Monday. Chasing a stiff target of 166 in 20 overs, Dambulla were bowled out for 128 in 19.1 overs.

They lost a couple of early wickets but Niroshan Dickwella and Upul Tharanga held the innings together to put a stand of 44 runs for the third wicket. Dickwella’s departure saw flurry of wickets going down and they were soon left tottering at 96/7.

Wanindu Hasaranga bowled an exceptional spell and returned with figures of 3/15 in 4 overs.

Earlier, Jaffna started off pretty well with a 68-run stand between Avishka Fernando and J Charles. Charles scored a fine 76 while Fernando notched up 39.

But some fine fielding efforts in the middle by Dambulla pulled things back for them and Jaffna were restricted to 165/9 in 20 overs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here