Glenn Maxwell. (Source: Twitter)

No goal is considered completely safe in T20 cricket now, let’s know about the teams that have scored the biggest successful run chase ever:-

England vs South Africa – In the year 2016, during the T20 World Cup, England faced South Africa. Batting first in front of England, South Africa made a mountain-like score of 229 runs. But where was the England team going to give up? England chased down the target in 19.4 overs, thanks to opener Jason Roy’s 43 off 16 balls and Joe Root’s 83 off 44 balls (6 fours, 4 sixes). Joe Root was adjudged Player of the Match for his match-winning innings.

South Africa vs West Indies – In 2015, West Indies were on an African tour. South Africa captain Faf du Plessis scored a brilliant century of 119 runs (11 fours, 5 sixes) in 56 balls as Africa posted a mammoth total of 231 runs in 20 overs for the loss of seven wickets. This match is a living example of why the West Indies are called the most dangerous team in 20-20. Chasing the target, the West Indies team achieved this target in 19.2 overs by making 236 runs for the loss of 6 wickets. For West Indies, Chris Gayle scored 90 runs in 41 balls which included nine fours and 7 sixes. Marlon Samuels also played an amazing inning of 60 runs in 39 balls. Chris Gayle received the Player of the Match award for his best performance.

Australia vs New Zealand – In the year 2018, Australia’s team was on a tour of New Zealand. In New Zealand, the size of the plains is usually very small. Due to this, it rains for fours and sixes. Batting first, Virat’s team made a mountain-like score of 243 runs in 20 overs, thanks to the brilliant innings of 105 runs (6 fours, 9 sixes) in 54 balls by opener Martin Guptill. Chasing the target, Australian openers David Warner and D.R.C. Short made an explosive start. While David Warner scored 59 runs in 24 balls, Short scored 76 runs in 44 days. In the final overs, Glenn Maxwell and Finch batted vigorously and easily achieved this impossible target in 18.5 overs. Short was adjudged the player of the match for his best innings.