Virat Kohli in action against West Indies. (Source: Twitter)

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the Asia XI that will take on the World XI in a T20I series. he series is being played commemorate the birth centenary of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Bangladesh’s founding father.

The board has picked as many six Indian players in the team out of which KL Rahul will play just one game while Virat Kohli’s presence is still in doubt.

The other four cricketers are Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Shikhar Dhawan. Pant and Shami are presently in New Zealand with the Indian team that is playing New Zealand in the two-match Test series. India lost the first match by 10 wickets.

Dhawan on the other side has been out of action for quite some time with injury issues and will be back in action in the DY Patil tournament along with Hardik Pandya.

Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das are the four Bangladesh players while Nepal’s star leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane has also got a place in this side. Thisara Perera and Lasith Malinga will be the two Sri Lankan players while Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman are the two Afghan players.

No Pakistan player has made a cut in this squad.

The World XI squad will be led by Faf du Plessis and includes some big names like Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard and Adil Rashid.

Asia XI Squad:

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane.

World XI Squad:

Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (c), Nicholas Pooran, Brendan Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.