Ben Stokes tries to save his wicket.
Ben Stokes tries to save his wicket.

The high-intensity World Cup 2019 final gathered a lot of controversies when England were awarded a total of six runs on the fourth ball of the last over during the chase.

The throw was deflected unintentionally by England batsman Ben Stokes while diving to save himself from a run-out and it resulted in a boundary. The batsmen had already completed two runs so England were awarded a total of 6.

Former umpire Simon Taufel criticised the on-field umpires.

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel told foxsports.com.au.

“In the heat of what was going on, they (umpires Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena) thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw” Taufel added.

The relevant clause from the MCC rulebook says:

Rule 19.8: Overthrow or wilful act of fielder

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be

— any runs for penalties awarded to either side

— and the allowance for the boundary

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel told foxsports.com.au.

“In the heat of what was going on, they (umpires Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena) thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw” Taufel added.

The relevant clause from the MCC rulebook says:

Rule 19.8: Overthrow or wilful act of fielder

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be

— any runs for penalties awarded to either side

— and the allowance for the boundary

Following this revelation by Taufel, an ICC official was quoted as saying by Sky Sports: “The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy.”

Following this revelation by Taufel, an ICC official was quoted as saying by Sky Sports: “The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here