Trailblazers beat Supernovas in the final. (Source: BCCI)

Thanks to a superb bowling performance, Trailblazers became the champions as they defeated Supernovas in the finals of the Jio Women’s T20 challenge played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah on Monday.

Supernovas captain Harmanpreet Kaur won the toss and decided to field first. Smriti Mandhana looked in decent touch right from word go putting the Supernovas bowlers under pressure while Deandra Dottin gave good support to Mandhana. At the end of the first six overs, Trailblazers scored 45 for 0.

Mandhana took the attack to Supernovas bowlers and kept the scoreboard ticking. At the end of the first timeout, trailblazers scored 56 for 0. Poonam Yadav struck finally to get rid of Dottin as Radha Yadav fumbles before taking the catch. Trailblazers openers put on 71 runs. Smriti Mandhana made the batting look easy and completed her fifty off 38 balls. Supernovas bowlers kept a tight line and length not allowing the Trailblazers batters to score runs easily. At the end of the 2 nd timeout, Trailblazers made 89 for 1.

Siriwardene got the big wicket of Smriti Mandhana with a superb stumping by Taniya Bhatia. From 101 for 2, Supernovas made a strong comeback as Radha Yadav grabbed five wicket haul to restrict Trailblazers to 118 for 8 in 20 overs. Radha took 3 wickets in the final over and run out was included.

Chasing a modest total of 119 runs to win, it was not an ideal start for Supernovas as the dangerous Chamari Atapatthu was dismissed by Ecclestone with a review. The umpires gave it not out and the decision was overturned hitting the stumps. Bhatia and Rodrigues struggled with their timing as Trailblazers bowlers kept tight line and lengths. At the end of the first six overs, Supernovas made just 28 for 1.

Deepti Sharma was bought into the attack and got rid of Bhatia wicket to put the Supernovas under pressure. A sensational catch by Chantam ended the innings for Rodrigues making it 37 for 3 at the end of the first timeout.

After the timeout, Harmanpreet Kaur and Siriwardene kept scoreboard ticking taking singles and hitting occasional boundaries. Salma Khatun got rid of Siriwardene ending 37 runs stand for the 4th wicket. Kaur struggled with her injury while Anuja Patil could not time the ball. At the end of the second timeout, Supernovas scored 75 for 4.

After the timeout, the task was too much for Supernovas as Anuja Patil and Harmanpreet Kaur went in quick succession to Salma Khatun. Trailblazers won the match easily by 16 runs to became new champions.

For his match winning knock of 68 from 49 balls, Smriti Mandhana was named the player of the match award. Radha Yadav was awarded the player of the series award.

Trailblazers 118 for 8 in 20 overs (Smriti Mandhana 68, Radha Yadav 5/16) beat Supernovas 102 for 7 in 20 overs ( Kaur 30, Salma Khatun 3/18, Deepti Sharma 2/9) by 16 runs.