India U19 World Cup winnings captains.

India is the most successful side in the U19 World Cup tournament. The team has lifted the title four times, most by any team at the junior level. Here’s a look at all the triumphs.


Mohammad Kaif.

Led by Mohammad Kaif, the Indian team lifted their first U19 title back in 2000. India cruised to victory after beating Sri Lanka in the finals. Former India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh was the man of the tournament for his 203 runs and 12 wickets.

India’s winning U19 squad: Mohammad Kaif (c), Anup Dave, Mihir Diwakar, Niraj Patel, Venugopal Rao, Ajay Ratra (wk), Ravneet Ricky, Manish Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan, Reetinder Sodhi (vc), Shalabh Srivastava, Mritunjay Tripathi, Arjun Yadav


India U19 team after winning 2008 WC. (Source: Twitter)

India had to wait for 8 years for their second title. In the year 2008, the Indian team captained by the current India skipper Virat Kohli won the U19 World Cup. They defeated South Africa in the final. New Zealand fast bowler Tim Southee was adjudged Man of the series while Tanmay Srivastava (262) scored most runs for India.

India’s winning U19 squad: Virat Kohli (c), Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Ajitesh Argal, Napoleon Einstein, Shreevats Goswami (wk), Perry Goyal (wk), Iqbal Abdulla, Siddarth Kaul, Taruwar Kohli, Abhinav Mukund
Manish Pandey, Pradeep Sangwan, Duvvarapu Siva Kumar, Tanmay Srivastava, Saurabh Tiwary


India U19 team after winning 2012 WC. (Source: Twitter)

The U19 World Cup then came back to India in 2012 when the Unmukt Chand-led side defeated Australia in the final. Chand played a match-winning innings by scoring 111 not-out in 130 balls. Will Bosisto was the Player of the series.

India’s winning U19 squad: Unmukt Chand (c), Akshdeep Nath (vc), Baba Aparajith, Prashant Chopra, Sandipan Das, Harmeet Singh, Akhil Herwadkar, Rush Kalaria, Vikas Mishra, Kamal Passi, Smit Patel, Ravikant Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Vijay Zol


Prithvi Shaw. (Source: Twitter)

The junior Indian team led by Prithvi Shaw lifted the fourth U19 title. The team that was coached by Rahul Dravid defeated Australia in the final. Shubman Gill became the Player of the Series.

India’s winning U19 squad: Prithvi Shaw (c), Shubman Gill (vc), Harvik Desai (wk), Aryan Juyal (wk), Manjot Kalra, Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Riyan Parag, Ishan Porel, Himanshu Rana, Anukul Roy, Abhishek Sharma, Arshdeep Singh, Shiva Singh

Note: India also reached the final of the 2016 edition under Ishan Kishan’s captaincy but lost to West Indies.