Vincy Premier T10 League. (Source: Twitter)

Thanks to a superb bowling effort, Salt Pond Breakers defeated Fort Charlotte Strikers by 20 runs in the 5th match of the Vincy Premier T10 league played at Arnos Vale Sporting Complex, St Vincent on Saturday.

Fort Charlotte Strikers captain won the toss Keron Cottoy won the toss and decided to field first. It was an ideal start for Strikers as Rasheed Fedrick got the early breakthrough getting the wicket of Rickford Walker. Pond Breakers captain Sunil Ambris impressed with his stroke play and played some lovely strokes.

On the other hand, Donwell Hector struggled to score runs. Kirton Lava dismissed Ambris for 29. Ambris and Hector added 33 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Urnel Thomas and Seon Sween were dismissed in quick succession. Delorn Johnson came to the crease and hit a quickfire 20 off 10 balls. Strough and Johnson added 22 runs for the 5th wicket. Strough hit a boundary and six which helped Breakers post 88 for 6 in 10 overs. Kirton Lava was the pick of the bowlers for Strikers with 2 for 10, Stowe, Fredrick and Ray Jordan took 1 wicket each.

Chasing 89 runs to win, Gidron Pope and Ronald Scott began off to a cautious start. Ronald Scott struggled as he made 2 off 12 balls before being dismissed by Sunil Ambris. Strikers openers added 19 runs. Breakers kept a tight line and length not allowing Strikers batsmen to score runs easily.

Chelson Stowe took the attack to Wesrick Strough in the 8th over. Strough came back well to dismiss Stowe for 18 off 8 balls. Ray Jordan hit a six from Strough bowling but fell short of the target by 20 runs. For Breakers, Sunil Ambris was the pick of the bowlers with 2 for 8, Delorn Johnson, Jeremy Layne and Wesrick 1 wicket each.

Salt Pond Breakers 88 for 6 in 10 overs (Sunil Ambris 29, Delorn Johnson 20, Kirton Lava 2/10) beat
Fort Charlotte Strikers 68 for 5 in 10 overs ( Chelson Stowe 18, Sunil Ambris 2/8) by 20 runs.