Harmanpreet Kaur. (Source: Twitter)

The Indian selection committee has announced the 15-member squad for the women’s World T20. The team would be led by Harmanpreet Kaur while uncapped Bengal batter Richa Ghosh has also been included.

Taniya Bhatia is the only wicket-keeper in the side while the skipper Kaur along with Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma and Jemimah Rodrigues will have the batting responsibilities.

Rajeshwari Gayakwad was the leading wicket-taker in the Challengers and has made a cut in the side.

Earlier, Bollywood actress Kareena Kapoor had unveiled the World T20 2020 trophies in Melbourne. The women’s tournament is scheduled to begin from February 21 while the men’s edition is slated to begin from October 18.

Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Veda Krishnamurthy, Richa Ghosh, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad