Steve Bucknor with Sachin Tendulkar. (Source: Twitter)

Steve Bucknor one of the most High profile umpires in Cricket’s recent History has talked about two mistakes he made against Tendulkar.

Stephen Anthony Bucknor DOB; 31/5/1946(Jamaica) began umpiring in 1989, and retired in 2009. He umpired in 128 Tests, 181 ODIs including five consecutive World cup finals, and in 172 first class matches. Before becoming an umpire he was a football player (goalkeeper) and a mathematics teacher in High school. He was awarded Order of Jamaica for outstanding services in field of Sports.

Eleven years after his retirement, Bucknor recalled on the Mason and Guests, radio program in Barbados earlier this week “Tendulkar was given out on two different occasions when those mistakes.”
Another time it was in India it was caught behind. The ball deviated appreciably after leaving the bat but there was no touch. The match was in Eden Gardens and when you are at the Eden and India s batting you hear nothing .Because 100,000 spectators are making noise.

Those were the mistakes and I was very unhappy .I am saying a human is going to make mistakes and accepting mistakes is a part of life”.

Bucknor, settled in New York since his retirement also said Sachin’s greatness lay in the fact that he could accumulate so many runs because he had all the shots in his inventory.

Talking about the best batsmen he has seen ,Bucknor, however rated Brian Lara who he called ”poetry in motion”, ahead of Tendulkar. Tenduklar’s run ins with Bucknor have been well chronicled. ICCs twitter handle had jokingly responded to a post by Sachin with a video of him bowling ,with a meme featuring Bucknor signaling a no- ball. “At least this time I am bowling and not batting … umpire’s decision is always final” Tendulkar had replied.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here