India opener Smriti Mandhana. (Source: Twitter)

England’s women’s cricket team defeated India by four wickets in the Tri-Nation Women’s T20 Series released in Australia on Friday. England’s women’s team bowled first after winning the toss and stopped the Indian team for 123 runs in six overs in 20 overs. After this, the target was achieved at a loss of six wickets in 18.5 overs. This is the second consecutive defeat of the Indian team in the tournament.

The fourth match of the Tri-Nation T20 Series was played in Melbourne on Friday between the women’s teams of India and England. Natalie Sciver from England scored 50 runs off 38 balls with the help of six fours and a six. Fran Wilson remained unbeaten on 20 runs. For India, Rajeshwari Gayakwad took three wickets for 23 runs.

Earlier, the Indian team could only manage 123 runs for six wickets in the scheduled 20 overs. Smriti Mandhana played an innings of 45 runs on his behalf. Jemima Rodriguez scored 23 and captain Harmanpreet Kaur scored 14 runs. For England, Anya Shrubsole bowled three wickets while bowling brilliantly. Apart from Shrubsole, Catherine Brunt took two wickets.

This is India’s second consecutive loss in three matches in this tournament. The Indian team, which defeated England by five wickets in their first match, had earlier lost to Australia by four wickets. India now have to play their last league match on February 8. The T20 World Cup is to be held in Australia itself and this series is very important in terms of its preparations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here