Tamil Nadu all-rounder Washington Sundar.

The finalists of the Vijay Hazare trophy 2019 Tamil Nadu and Karnataka will once again lock horns with each other in the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 scheduled to take place in Surat on Sunday.

After Karnataka defeated Haryana in the semi-final on Friday, Tamil Nadu too registered their place in the final. the Dinesh Karthik-led side defeated Deepak Chahar’s Rajasthan by 7 wickets in the semi-final.

After being put into bat, Rajasthan never got the start they required and lost wicket at regular intervals. They were reduced to 76/7 only to get restricted to 112/9 in 20 overs.

In reply, Chahar did get an early breakthrough in the form of Hari Nishanth who got out in the first over but a 69-run partnership between R Ashwin and Washington Sundar pushed Rajasthan on the backfoot.

Tamil Nadu got over the line in the 18th over.