Karnataka won by 1 run. (Source: Twitter)

Ahead of his D-day, Manish Pandey received a perfect gift when his side Karnataka lifted the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 after beating Tamil Nadu by just 1 run in the final in Surat on Sunday.

Batting first, Karnataka score d180/5 in 20 overs, courtesy a 45-ball 60* from the skipper Pandey. Rohan Kadam chipped in with 35 off 28 while Devdutt Padikkal scored 32 off 23.

View this post on Instagram

Champions ???????? #Karnataka #MushtaqAliT20

A post shared by Circle of Cricket (@circleofcricket) on

In reply, Tamil Nadu lost a couple of early wickets but Baba Aparajith and Vijay Shankar resisted well. The two scored 71 runs for the fifth wicket before Aparajith departed for 40 off 25. But their efforts went in vain as Tamil Nadu lost the match eventually.