MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina. (Source: Twitter)

Former India captain MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina anncouned their retirements from international cricket on Saturday. Raina has now revealed the reason behind the two batsmen’s retirement being announced on August 15, 2020.

“I knew Dhoni would announce his retirement upon reaching Chennai, so I was ready,” Raina told Dainik Jagran.

“After announcing our retirement, we hugged and cried a lot,” he added.

“We had already made up our minds to retire on Saturday (August 15). Dhoni’s jersey number is 7 and mine is 3 – put it together and it makes 73. And on August 15, India completed 73 years of independence, so there couldn’t have been a better day,” Raina further said.

Dhoni is the only captain in the world to have won all the three ICC trophies. He led India to World T20 in 2007, 50-over World Cup in 2011 and Champions Trophy 2013. He has won the most number of finals as a captain. He has led the Indian team six times in a final and has clinched the victory in four of them.

Dhoni is now the only player to have fininshed his career with an average of 50 and 10000 runs ODI runs. He is infact ahead of Sachin Tendulkar in this list.

India’ present captain Virat Kohli is at the helm in the list of batsmen with more than 10000 runs and have average of 50.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here