Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly. (Source: Twitter)

After some drama unfolded on Sunday night, former India captain Sourav Ganguly emerged consensus candidate to be President of the BCCI after Brijesh Patel appeared to have grabbed the coveted post. Though, Ganguly will have to demit his post in September 2020 as he will be going on the compulsory cooling off period.

The other names who are contesting elections for various posts are Gujarat Cricket Association’s Jay Shah (for secretary), Assam Cricket Association’s Devajit Saikia (for joint secretary) and Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association’s Arun Dhumal (for treasurer).

Monday is the final day for filing the nominations for the elections that are scheduled to take place on October 23.