Sourav Ganguly is the new BCCI President. (Source: Twitter)

After some drama unfolded on Sunday night, former India captain Sourav Ganguly emerged consensus candidate to be President of the BCCI after Brijesh Patel appeared to have grabbed the coveted post. Though, Ganguly will have to demit his post in September 2020 as he will be going on the compulsory cooling off period.

The other names who are contesting elections for various posts are Gujarat Cricket Association’s Jay Shah (for secretary), Assam Cricket Association’s Devajit Saikia (for joint secretary) and Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association’s Arun Dhumal (for treasurer).

Monday is the final day for filing the nominations for the elections that are scheduled to take place on October 23.

Anshuman Gaekwad elected ICA male representative to BCCI Apex Council

Anshuman Gaekwad has been elected as the ICA male representative to BCCI Apex Council after beating Kirti Azad (381) and Rakesh Dhurve (223). Shanta Rangaswamy is elected for the female post of the same.

In the other posts, ICA secretary and treasurer respectively, Hitesh Majumdar (646 votes) beat Ashu Dani (436) and V Krishnaswamy (739) beat Kishor Kumar Sharma (336).

The other positions
Ashok Malhotra for president
Rajesh Nayyar and Yajurvindra Singh for ICA Member Representative
Surinder Khanna for ICA Representative to IPL Governing Council

Amar Petiwale and Jayashree Kulkarni became the male and female representative respectively in Baroda Cricket Association
Suresh Mahadevan (27) beating Hemant Angle (9) in Goa Cricket Association
Parth Sathwalekar (48) beating Mirza Faiyaz Baig (21) in Hyderabad Cricket Association
Brijinder Sharma (19) beating Vijay Singh Sen (6) in Himchal Pradesh Cricket Association
Sambasiva Sarma (32) won against Renjith Menon (21) and S Manoj (0) in Kerala Association
Eitti Chaturvedi (30) beat Reena Singh (25) in UP elections for female representatives.