India fast bowler Mohammed Shami (Source: BCCI)

India opener Rohit Sharma and fast bowler Mohammed Shami are back in the squad for New Zealand T20Is while Hardik Pandya is still out of contention as his “rehabilitation process is taking longer than expected,” the BCCI stated in a release on Sunday (January 12).

The team will be led by Virat Kohli. There is not much change in the side but wicket-keeper Sanju Samson who got a game to play against Sri Lanka in the last T20I has been dropped and Rishabh Pant is the only front-line gloveman.

After beating Sri Lanka 2-0 in the three-match T20I series, India will now play Australia in three ODIs before touring New Zealand.

India’s T20I squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur