Rohit Sharma scored his maiden double-century. (Source: BCCI)

A number of records were broken during the Test series between India and South Africa.

In the first match itself, the world record of 37 sixes was reached by both the teams. It included 13 sixes by Rohit Sharma alone. While Rohit hit 6 sixes in the first innings of the match and 7 sixes in the second innings. Earlier, the record for maximum sixes in a Test match was recorded in the name of Pakistan-New Zealand match played in 2014-15 in Sharjah.

Rohit has now become the first player in cricket history to score a century in all three formats of international cricket as an opener (Test, ODI and T20). Rohit achieved this feat in the first Test.

Ravindra Jadeja became the fastest left-arm bowler to take 200 Test wickets in the Visakhapatnam Test. He broke the world record of Rangana Herath of Sri Lanka by taking the wicket of Elgar.

READ: India complete clean sweep win against South Africa

In the first Test played in Visakhapatnam, Rohit Sharma also recorded the record of most sixes by hitting 13 sixes in a match. Before him, this record was in the name of Pakistan veteran Wasim Akram.

Rohit Sharma has become the first batsman to score a century in both innings of the first Test as an opener. He scored 176 runs in the first innings of the first Test, while in the second innings also 127 runs came off his bat.

Shahbaz Nadeem scalped his first test wicket. (Source: BCCI)

Ravichandran Ashwin finished jointly with Muttiah Muralitharan, claiming the fastest 350 wickets in international Test cricket. He achieved this feat only in the 66th Test.

Virat Kohli as a captain equalled Ricky Ponting’s record for most 19 Test centuries in Test cricket. Both players have scored 19–19 centuries as captains in Tests.

Virat Kohli, as captain, surpassed the great Bradman nine times in international Test cricket by scoring more than 150. Bradman did this feat eight times in his career as a captain.

India clinched the series 3-0 against SA. (Source: BCCI)

India has made a new world record by winning 11 consecutive Test series on home ground. He broke Australia’s record of winning 10 Test series. The Indian team has won 11 consecutive Test series under the captaincy of Dhoni-Virat and Rahane since 2013, which is now a world record.

Rohit Sharma scored third century of the series. (Source: BCCI)

Team opener Rohit Sharma holds the record for the most sixes in a Test series. The record for most sixes in a Test series before Rohit was named after West Indies batsman Shimron Hetmyer, who hit 15 sixes in the series against Bangladesh in 2018. Currently, Rohit has hit 19 * sixes in the current series.