The 83rd edition of the Ranji Trophy will begin on October 6.

The 83rd edition of the most prestigious tournament of India’s domestic circuit will commence on October 6 with Chhattisgarhh being the new side that would make their debut appearance in this edition.

Interestingly, the tournament’s final game would be held from January 7 to January 11, 2017, the date being the earliest one so far in the history.

Unlike in 2015-16, the limited-overs competitions – Vijay Hazare Trophy (50-overs) and the newly proposed inter-zonal T20 tournament for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy – will be played after the Ranji Trophy.

The matches will take place on neutral venues.

The domestic calendar will end with the Deodhar trophy. The 50-over tournament will be played in the same format as the Challenger Trophy, on March 29.

Ranji Trophy 2016-17 groups
Group A

Mumbai, Baroda, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Bengal, Gujarat,Tamil Nadu, Railways, Uttar Pradesh

Group B

Saurashtra, Odisha, Delhi, Maharashtra,Karnataka, Vidarbha, Rajasthan,Assam, Jharkhand

Group C

Hyderabad, Haryana,Kerala, Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, Services, Goa, J&K, Andhra, Chhattisgarh

Players, coaches transfers and new joinings

#S Badrinath will lead Hyderabad in the upcoming season. The side also has a new head coach – B Arun, the former India bowling coach

#Left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdulla and batsman Bhavin Thakkar who featured in Mumbai’s victorious Ranji Trophy campaign last season, have signed a one-year deal with Kerala.

#Mohammad Kaif, the former India batsman, will lead Ranji Trophy debutants Chhattisgarh.

#Hanuma Vihari Andhra along with Dwaraka Ravi Teja. Left-arm spinner Bhargav Bhatt, who played for Gujarat, has also signed with Andhra.

#Former India batsman Hrishikesh Kanitkar has inked a two-season contract as coach of Tamil Nadu.

#Former India left-arm spinner Sunil Joshi has signed a two-year contract to coach Assam.

#Former Maharashtra and Bengal batsman Shrikant Kalyani will succeed Australian David Andrews as Maharashtra coach.