Former Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Akhtar. (Source: Twitter)

Pakistan Super League.(PSL) was founded in September 2015, with 5 teams which have now been increased to 6. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has direct control over all activities of the PSL.

The following are the teams with details.

1.Multan Sultans: Capt S.Masood
Owners: Ali Tareen , Taimur Malik,
Multan Consortium

2.Lahore Qalandars: Capt Sohail Akhtar Owners: Qatar lubricants, Fawad Rana MD.

3.Quetta Gladiators.Capt Sarfraz Ahmed.Owner :Omar Associates.
Nadeem Omar . Director.

4.Peshawar Zalmi.Capt Darren Sammy, Owner Haier Pakistan. Javed Afridi CEO.

5.Karachi Kings.,Capt Imad Wasim.Owners ARY group.Salman Iqbal CEO.

6.Islamabad United.Capt Shadaab Khan.Owners Leonine global sports.Ali Naqvi ,Amna Naqvi.

Prize Money.:Winners: 500,000 USD.

Runners up :200,000,USD.

The PSL 2020, got suspended right before the final stages of the competition due to Corona Virus outbreak

Speaking on the issue ex Pakistani speedster,Shoaib Akhtar said that the” PSL is facing an economic crisis and some of the owners are looking to sell their teams. Due to international cricket activities re starting again he did not see the PSL taking place for the next 16 to 18 months.

PSL franchise owners have complained to PCB of incurring losses in all the three seasons of PSL, so far,.They had asked PCB to waive off the tax on annual fee that they had to pay for their franchises ,which the PCB refused.

Shoaib said that” he would be happy to provide financial as well as non monetary support to keep the PSL alive and to thrive”

He said ” The PSL cannot be held in the next 16 to 18 months and I don’t think the PCB can ask for money from franchises in this situation as far as I know Franchises are already down financially and ready to sell their brand,they have offers. I will make sure PSL stays alive and it gets big brands to make progress”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here