Big Bash league. (Source: Twitter)

The venues for the BBL 10 have been confirmed. Western Australia will host five BBL matches for Perth during early January – including four home games for the Scorchers – and Melbourne will host 11 matches.

Scorchers are set to play the Melbourne Renegades (January 3), Sydney Sixers (January 6), Sydney Thunder (January 9) and Hobart Hurricanes (January 12) at Optus Stadium. There will also be a neutral fixture between the Hurricanes and Thunder on January 7.

“We’ve shaped the season such that we’ve tried to take advantage of borders that are open, obviously it’s a pretty moving target at the moment, but we are really confident the flow of the season allows us to do that,” Alistair Dobson, the head of the BBL, said. “We are working really closely with the authorities in WA to make sure we have everything in place to get into WA.”

“It was a testament in our ability to move quickly, we’ll have to be on our toes all year, equally it was a reminder that while the situation is improving we still need to be really focused on the safety and well-being of players and fans,” Dobson said.

“Moving players around has played a big role in how we’ve structured the schedule…it’s a bit trickier than normal years,” Dobson said. “It’s an added expense but part of delivering a Big Bash season this year.”

Mick Murray, Western Australian Minister for Sport and Recreation, said: “It is exciting that the Perth Scorchers will have the opportunity to play four matches before a home crowd during this summer of cricket. This is a fantastic outcome for the State – and I thank the WACA, VenuesWest, Cricket Australia, the Chief Health Officer and the Police Commissioner for their work in securing these five games for WA.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here