Sourav Ganguly is the new BCCI President. (Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President Sourav Ganguly has made a stern statement that the chief selector’s position would only be given to the player with the most number of Test appearances for India.

The current chief selector’s term will end in September this year and the newly appointed CAC committee will conduct the interviews for the same. Gagan Khoda is the other outgoing selector.

The former India skipper who led India in the final of the World Cup 2003 said, ““It will be the one with the most Tests.”

Ajit Agarkar (Mumbai), Chetan Sharma (Haryana), Nayan Mongia (Baroda), Laxman Sivaramakrishnan (Tamil Nadu), Rajesh Chauhan (Madhya Pradesh), Amey Khurasiya (Madhya Pradesh) have applied for the jobs.

BCCI’s criteria of selection.
1: Seven Test matches
2: 30 first-class matches

3:10 ODIs and 20 first-class matches.