Pic Courtesy: Twitter

Jonny Bairstow excluded from England Test squad for the tour of New Zealand but included in 5 matches T20I series. He misses due to his bad form in this year’s Ashes series. England’s specialist wicketkeeper could only score 214 runs in 10 innings. He was just averaging just below 24 in the recent drawn Ashes series.

Bairstow was not good with the bat as he just had scored only one half-century in 10 innings of 5 tests.
In the absence of Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler will be wicketkeeping in the upcoming two-test match series against Blackcaps to be held at New Zealand in November 2019. Ollie Pope is all set for a come back in Test matches after 14 months as he played his last test match in August 2018. Four uncapped players — Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Matthew Parkinson and Saqib Mahmood — have also been called up to the Test squad.

England’s leading wicket-taker James Anderson is still out of contention while he recovers from a calf injury.

Jason Roy also misses out from both the squads due to his poor show in this year’s Ashes series. All-rounder Ben Stokes, Buttler, Mark Wood, Jofra Archer, Liam Plunkett and Chris Woakes will also be missing the T20 series.

Eoin Morgan returns as captain after a memorable summer, where he led England to ICC Men’s World Cup glory in July.

England begins their New Zealand tour with the first of five T20 matches to be played on Nov. 1, followed by two tests that begin on Nov. 21 and Nov. 29 respectively. The tests will not be a part of the ICC World Test Championship.

Test squad: Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Dominic Sibley, Joe Root (captain), Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Sam Curran and Jack Leach

T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, James Vince


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here