Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni during the toss before the IPL 2019 final. (Source: BCCI)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 is set to begin from March 29 when Mumbai Indians take on Chennai Super Kings at Wankhede stadium.

Moreover, there would be no double-headers on Saturdays which will subsequently add to another week to the league stage.

A total of eight teams will play against each other twice in the round-robin format.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore who have never lifted the trophy despite playing three finals went for a total rejig during the auctions stage and the selection of team management.

RCB snapped a total of 8 players in the IPL auctions that included Dale Steyn, Kane Richardson, Isuru Udana, Joshua Philippe, Pavan Deshpande and Shahbaz Ahmad, besides Chris Morris and Aaron Finch.

eSome of the Australian players bagged big money. Glenn Maxwell was sold to KXIP INR 10.75 Cr while Aaron Finch was picked up by RCB for INR 440L. Chris Morris snapped INR 10Cr and was sold to RCB but Pat Cummins got a huge sum of INR 15.50 Cr after KKR bought him.

Some of the uncapped Indian players too got a huge sum of money in this year’s auctions. India U19 captain Priyam Garg was sold to Sunrisers Hyderabad for INR 1.90 Cr while opener Yashasvi Jaiswal bagged NR 2.4 Crore after he was picked by Rajasthan Royals.

Fast bowler Kartik Tyagi was sold for INR 1.3 Crore to Rajasthan Royals. Leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi snapped INR 2 Crore after he was bought by KXIP.