Suryakumar Yadav. Twitter

In the second match of the three-match T20 International series played at the Bay Oval on Sunday, India defeated New Zealand by 65 runs to take an unassailable 1-0 lead in the series. Batting first after winning the toss, India had scored 191 runs losing 6 wickets in 20 overs, in response to which the Kiwi team was reduced to a score of 126 runs in 18.5 overs.

Star batsman Suryakumar Yadav scored a brilliant century from the blue jersey team. He scored an unbeaten 111 * in 51 balls, which included 11 fours and 7 sixes. This was the second century of Surya’s T20 International career. For this he was awarded the man of the match award.

Apart from him, star wicket-keeper batsman Ishaan Kishan scored 36 runs and captain Hardik Pandya and Shreyas Iyer contributed 13-13 runs. Veteran pacer Tim Southee took three wickets and Loki Ferguson took two wickets for New Zealand.

At the same time, from the side of Blackcaps, captain Kane Williamson scored the maximum 61 runs and Devon Conway scored an inning of 25 runs. Apart from these two, only Glenn Phillips (12 runs) and Daryl Mitchell (10 runs) could touch the double figure. Deepak Hooda (4) took the most wickets from India. Apart from them, Mohammad Siraj and Yuzvendra Chahal got two wickets each. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Washington Sundar took 1-1 wickets.

Significantly, the first match of the series was abandoned due to rain. Now the visiting team, captained by Hardik Pandya, will try to take the series under their control by winning the last match. On the other hand, the hosts would also like to leave no stone unturned.