Rohit Sharma hit two consecutive sixes to win the match for India in the Super Over in the third T20I. (Source: Twitter)

Another Super Over, another defeat for New Zealand. The last time Kane Williamson’s troops were outplayed in a Super Over, it had cost them the World Cup and on Wednesday, the history repeated itself when they lost the T20I series against India.

New Zealand and Tim Southee failed to defend 18 runs in the Super Over as India took an unassailable 3-0 lead in the series. The Men in Blue 10 off the last two deliveries when Rohit Sharma unfolded yet another fine batting display and hammered a couple of sixes on the trot to win it for the side.

Earlier, India managed to score 179/5 in 20 overs, courtesy a 40-ball 65 from Sharma. In reply, New Zealand looked steady in their chase until the last over when Kane Williamson lost his wicket while hosts just needed a couple of runs off three deliveries in a Mohammed Shami over.

Ross Taylor was on strike on the last delivery when the Kiwis needed just one to win but Taylor played a delivery on to his stumps and the match went into the Super Over.

Martin Guptill and Williamson put 17 runs off 6 balls in the Super Over that was bowled by Jasprit Bumrah but the Blackcaps couldn’t hold their nerves and lost the match.