Bowlers let India down again as New Zealand wrap whitewash win

New Zealand beat India 3-0 in ODI series. (Source: Instagram)

India were once again outplayed by New Zealand in the third and final ODI of the series by 5 wickets to complete a 3-0 whitewash win.

The Indian bowlers once again let the team down after failing to defend a total of 297. Batting first, India rode on KL Rahul’s ton to put 296/7 on the board in 50 overs.

Apart from Rahul, opener Prithvi Shaw, Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer showed some character. Shaw chipped in with a 42-ball 40 before getting a runout while Iyer scored 62.

Pandey scored a fighting 42 before getting out to Benett. For New Zealand, it was Benett who scalped a four-for but was a bit expensive too as he gave away 64 runs in 10 overs.

New Zealand had a brilliant start to the chase after Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls put 106 on the scoresheet. Guptill was then undone by Yuzvendra Chahal for 66 while Nicholls scored 80. The Kiwis then lost wickets at regular intervals before Colin de Grandhomme hammered the Indian bowling line up all around the park.

De Grandhomme smacked 58* off just 28 balls that included six fours and three maximums to take his team over the line in the 48th over.

Shardul Thakur who has been facing criticism for his bowling once again gave away 87 runs in just 9.1 overs.

Henry Nicholls | Player of the Match: To come out here and make it 3-0, which is something we wanted to achieve before the start of the series, but I guess heading into today knowing that again it’s a chance for us to put up a good performance, it’s nice to be standing here after a good run-chase. Nice to put up some partnerships (with Guptill) and obviously the way he played today to get us ahead in the run-chase and I think it was important heading into the back end, his experience at the top certainly helps me. He (Guptill) scores so quickly and I can just stand there, it’s great to play the second fiddle and really caught up on that 100-run stand. Fortunate enough throughout the series to put up a good opening stand in all three games. Nice to reflect on this moment after beating them 3-0 and looking forward to the Test series.

Kohli | India captain: The games were not as bad as the scoreline suggests. Batsmen coming back from tough situations was a positive sign for us, but the way we fielded and bowled, the composure wasn’t enough to win games. Didn’t deserve to be on the winning side at all this series. Haven’t played so badly, but we didn’t grab opportunities. It was a good experience for the new guys who came in. They are still finding their feet. They (New Zealand) played with lot more intensity than we did. They deservedly won 3-0. We are excited for the Test series. We now have a balanced team. We feel we can win the series, but we need to step out on the park with the right kind of mindset.

Kane Williamson | New Zealand skipper: Outstanding performance, India put us under pressure every game of this seriesand today, the first half the wayboys fought with the ball was brilliant. The cricket smarts was outstanding to see and it’s something that the boys did that well throughout the series. There are always thingsto learn from sides like India and it’s a great start and we are just building on these performances and looking forward to ODIs with Australia later on. Like I said, an outstanding effort against a brilliant side like India. Its recovering (the shoulder) well which is a good thing andI just want to make a special special mention to Hindo, obviously a fan and friend of the team and memberof the Sky cricket team and just want him to know that all (the team) are thinking about him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *