The Indian cricket team may not have won the biggest tournament of 2019, but its performance was commendable. These performances of Indian cricketers are now honoured by the ICC. The International Cricket Council has announced its 2019 ICC Awards. Rohit Sharma (ODI) was adjudged the best player of the ODI, while Deepak Chahar won the T20. Chahar is currently out of Team India due to injury.

Deepak Chahar took six wickets for seven runs in the T20 match against Bangladesh in November 2019. He also took a hat-trick in this match. This performance of Deepak Chahar has been considered the best performance of 2019. ICC has awarded Deepak Chahar the Best Men’s T20I Performance in 2019 for this.

Deepak Chahar’s bowling spell (6/7) is also the best performance of T20 International cricket. Earlier this record was in the name of Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis (6/8). Mendis took six wickets for eight against Zimbabwe in 2012. Chahar has taken this record from Mendis.

On being honoured with the ICC Awards 2019, Deepak Chahar said, ‘I am very happy to receive this award. I want to thank the ICC for giving this award. Also, I would like to thank the BCCI, which gave me a chance to play for the country. That performance is very special to me. I did a great performance for my country and because of that, that moment will always be close to my heart. ‘

Let us know that Indians were popular in the ICC Awards. Indian captain Virat Kohli to vice-captain Rohit Sharma got some award. Rohit Sharma has been selected as the best ODI cricketer of 2019. The ICC has awarded him the title of 2019 ODI Cricketer of the Year. Virat Kohli has been awarded the Spirit of Cricket of 2019 for his sportsmanship.