Essex lift Bob Willis Trophy 2020. (Source: Twitter)

The Bob Willis Trophy 2020 final ended in a draw but Essex lifted the trophy after they took the first innings lead at Lord’s. Batting first Somerset scored 301 runs after Edward Byrom struck 117 while Craig Overton notched up 66 during the course.

Samuel Cook scalped a fifer in the first innings for Essex. Essex then rode on Sir Alastair Cook’s 179 to score 337/8 (D). While Cook showed his class, Gregory scalped a six-wicket haul for Somerset.

Somerset nullified the first innings lead soon as opener Tom Lammonby scored 116 and they eventually decalred the innings at 272/7 (D). James Porter picked up four wickets for Essex.

Essex lost a couple of early wickets during the chase but Ryan ten Doeschate held the innings together from one end and the match eventually ended in a draw.

Playing XI

Somerset: Ben Green, Tom Lammonby, Tom Abell (c), George Bartlett, Edward Byrom, Steven Davies (wk), Lewis Gregory, Craig Overton, Josh Davey, Jack Leach, Jack Brooks

Essex: Paul Walter, Sir Alastair Cook, Tom Westley (c), Daniel Lawrence, Nick Browne, Adam Wheater (wk), Ryan ten Doeschate, Simon Harmer, Aaron Beard, Samuel Cook, James Porter