Heather Knight. (Source: Twitter)

England named a 17-strong squad for the multi-format Women’s Ashes, starting with the one-off Test in Canberra on January 27.

England Women’s Ashes Squad: Heather Knight (C), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, (VC), Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt

England Women’s A Squad: Emily Arlott, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Alice Davidson-Richards, Georgia Elwiss, Kirstie Gordon, Eve Jones, Beth Langston, Emma Lamb, Bryony Smith, Ellie Threlkeld, Issy Wong

“This is the first time we’ve taken an England Women’s A squad alongside the senior team, which is a big step forward for us,” head coach Lisa Keightley said. “It gives us great depth, and provides so much competition for places. It’s also an invaluable development opportunity for those players pushing for senior selection.

“Similarly, it’s also a good chance to get more 50-over cricket under our belts ahead of our defence of the ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand.

“We’ve got a nice blend of experienced pros and youngsters, and it’s a trip we’ve been preparing for since the end of our summer. A multi-format series is a great test of all our skills, and we can’t wait to get out there.”

Women’s Ashes Fixtures

January 27-30: Only Test, CanberraFebruary 4: 1st T20I, SydneyFebruary 6: 2nd T20I, SydneyFebruary 10: 3rd T20I, AdelaideFebruary 13: 1st ODI, AdelaideFebruary 16: 2nd ODI, MelbourneFebruary 19: 3rd ODI, Melbourne