Kapil Dev led India to their first-ever World Cup triumph. (Source: Twitter)

The U19 World Cup final took an ugly turn when the players from both the side got involved in heated arguments post the match.

Three Bangladesh players and two Indians Ravi Bishnoi and Akash Singh were later sanctioned by the ICC of breaching the Code of Conduct.

Former World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev expressed disappointment about the event and said that cricket is no more a “gentleman’s game”.

India were playing their third U19 World Cup final while Bangladesh were in the title clash for the first time. The Bangladesh side were eventually crowned winners after they defeated India by 3 wickets.

READ: 3 times Bangladesh have been disrespectful to Indian cricket

But some of the Bangladesh cricketers got carried away during the celebrations and used inappropriate words that led to the ugly scenes.

India were dethroned by Bangladesh after the junior team had lifted their fourth title in 2018 under Prithvi Shaw’s captaincy.

READ: 5 players found guilty of breaching ICC Code of Conduct

India have won the U19 World Cup four times. The first victory came in 2000 under Mohammad kaif’s leadership while they had to wait for 8 years for the second title. In 2008, Virat Kohli led India to their second U19 title while Unmukt Chand’s side lifted the trophy in 2012.

India have been runners-up thrice in the mega event in 2006, 2016 and now in 2020.