England cricketer Ben Stokes. (Source: Twitter)

England all-rounder Ben Stokes has been named as the ‘Cricketer of the Year’ by Wisden in its 157th Almanack. Stokes has been phenomenal for England in the past year.

He played an important role in England’s winning triumph in the World Cup 2019 while anchored the side to victory against Australia by just one wicket in the Headingley Ashes Test. England defeated New Zealand in the final at Lord’s.

Stokes is the second English cricketer to get the honour after Andrew Flintoff in 17 years. India skipper Virat Kohli had won it in 2016, 2017 and 2018 seasons.

The other five players who have been named as Cricketers of the Year Jofra Archer, Pat Cummins, Marnus Labuschagne, Ellyse Perry and Simon Harmer. Archer was also the part of the England team that lifted the World Cup last year.

Cummins, Labuschagne and Perry helped the men’s and women’s Australian team to retain the Ashes urn away from home.

List of Wisden’s Cricketers of the Year since 2003

2003 – Ricky Ponting
2004 – Shane Warne
2005 – Andrew Flintoff
2006 – Muttiah Muralitharan
2007 – Jacques Kallis
2008 – Virender Sehwag
2009 – Virender Sehwag
2010 – Sachin Tendulkar
2011 – Kumar Sangakkara
2012 – Michael Clarke
2013 – Dale Steyn
2014 – Kumar Sangakkara
2015 – Kane Williamson
2016 – Virat Kohli
2017 – Virat Kohli
2018 – Virat Kohli
2019 – Ben Stokes