Australia beat Indian in the final in Melbourne. (Source: Twitter)

The World T20 final between India and Australia reminded of the 2003 title clash between the men’s team. Batting first, Australia rode on Alyssa Healy’s carnage to put 184/4 on the board in 20 overs and later bundled out India for 99 to win the match by 85 runs to lift the trophy.

The Indian bowlers did pull off the things at the end but the damage couldn’t be controlled much. To add to their misery, India lost Shafali Verma on the second ball of the innings while Taniya Bhatia was retired hurt after being hit on the helmet.

Jemimah Rodrigues, Smriti Mandhana and captain Harmanpreet Kaur were the next to follow leaving India tottering at 30/4. They were eventually bundled out for 99. Megan Schutt scalped a four-wicket haul while Jess Jonassen picked up three wickets for Australia.