Ness Wadia and Preity Zinta. (Source: Twitter)

The IPL is a platform where the youngsters and those wanting to make a comeback get a stage to showcase their ability. One of the main heroes behind the league being a success are the team owners. They passionately follow the game and make the right investments for the team to perform well. They provide constant support to their team. They ensure their presence most of the time at the stadiums. Let’s get to know a bit more about the
owners of each IPL franchise.

Chennai Super Kings 

MS Dhoni. (Source: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings is owned by a company named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd. India Cements was the earlier owner of the team from the inaugural edition till the 2014 season.

However, after returning from a two-year ban, CSK has made its own identity as a company. Vice-chairman of India Cements, N Srinivasan had a huge role to play in reshaping the CSK franchise after their 2-year-ban.

Delhi Capitals

DC win. (Source: BCCI)

Delhi Capitals is now co-owned by the GMR group as well as the JSW group, whose Managing Director is Parth Jindal. Both the companies have 50% stakes each in the club. GMR made JSW the co-owner in 2018, and the name of the team was
changed from Delhi Daredevils to Delhi Capitals.

Their fortunes also changed as they have made it to the playoffs in both the years following their renaming. Jindal has always been expressive of his love for the game and is keen on making DC an IPL powerhouse.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB beat KKR. (Source: BCCI)

United Spirits has been the owners of RCB even since the inaugural IPL edition. However, businessman Vijay Mallya has always been considered as the face of the franchise. This was because he was the director of Royal Challengers Sports Private Limited (RCSPL).

However, Mallya had to step down from the position in 2016. Ever since United Spirits have been the sole owners of the club.

Rajasthan Royals

RR won by 16 runs. (Source: BCCI)

Rajasthan Royals are owned by several people who have a different percentage of stakes in the franchise. Amisha Hathiramani owns 44.2% of it. Her father, Suresh Chellaram, used to hold the same earlier. Later on, in 2015, he transferred his entire
stake to his daughter. Manoj Badale owns 32.4% of stakes in the franchise, while former skipper Shane Warne also has a 3% stake in RR.

Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR is owned by Shahrukh Khan’s Red Chillies entertainment (55% stakes) and Juhi Chawla and her husband’s Mehta Group (45% stakes).

These two Bollywood stars are often seen in the stadiums cheering for their team and, they have increased the fan base of KKR over the years to a great extent.

Shah Rukh has always been interested in sports and took his love for sport a step ahead by buying the Knight Riders franchise.

Mumbai Indians

One of the smartest owners in the IPL is Reliance Industries. Their whose Managing Director is Aakash Ambani, son of businessman Mukesh Ambani. Mumbai Indian’s performance is a reflection of the cleverness of its owners. MI is the most successful IPL team.

Aakash and his mother Nita Ambani, have always managed to keep the MI squad together as a family. This has worked in their favour most of the time. Their buys and trades have been smart and, everything is planned to perfection.

Kings XI Punjab

KXIP is owned majorly by the Dabur Group with 46% stakes. However, Ness Wadia (23%), Preity Zinta (23%), and Karan Paul (8%) are the other co-owners. Ness Wadia’s Bombay Dyeing is the flagship company of the Wadia Group. 
Preity Zinta is the founder of the production company PZNZ Media. They have been a co-owner of this team side since 2008. Surprisingly, it is Preity Zinta who comes out in support of the team each year. This is despite the team not winning even a single IPL title to date.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Deccan Chargers franchise was dissolved in 2013 and, a new team in the form of Sunrisers Hyderabad took centre stage. It was possible with Sun TV Network as their owners in a certain way. 

Kalinithi Maran is the CEO and, his daughter Kaviya Maran is seen a few times cheering for her team in the stadium.