MI won IPL 2020. (Source: BCCI)

Mumbai Indians created history after clinching their fifth IPL title on Tuesday under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy. MI defeated Delhi Capitals in the final in Dubai.

This is the fifth instance when a team has won the IPL final while chasing. Here’s a look at the winners in previous IPL editions who have clinched the title after chasing.

2008- Rajasthan Royals

The inaugural IPL edition in 2008 saw Rajasthan Royals taking on Chennai Super Kings in the final in Mumbai. CSK batted first and posted a total of 163/5 in 20 overs. RR chased dow the target by 3 wickets on the last delivery of the match.

2012- Kolkata Knight Riders

The 2012 season had Kolkata Knight Riders and CSK in the final in Chennai. Chennai rode on some brilliant batting display from top and middle order to post 190/3 in 20 overs. But a fine knock from Manvinder Bisla and Kallis’s responsible innings eventually handed the cup to KKR by 5 wickets.

2014- Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR won their second IPL title in 2014 after defeating KXIP in the final in Bangalore. Wriddhiman Saha while playing for KXIP hammered a brilliant hundred to take his team to a formidable total of 199/4. But Manish Pandey played a brilliant innings and scored 94 in just 50 deliveries to anchor his team to a win by 3 wickets.

2018- Chennai Super Kings

CSK lifted their third IPL title after beating SRH in the final in Mumbai. SRH scored 178/6 in 20 overs. Opener Shane Watson notched up a fine hundred as CSK won the match pretty convincingly by 8 wickets and 9 balls to spare.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here