IPL 2020 will be held in UAE. (Source: BCCI)

New Zealand has been one of the least affected countries by the COVID-19 outburst. According to the reports, they only have 22 active cases presently and looking at the situation, New Zealand has proposed to host the IPL 2020.

The IPL was postponed for an indefinite time after the coronavirus outburst. Earlier, Sri Lanka and UAE had also offered to host the cash-rich league.

“Staging the event in India has to be the first choice but in case it is not safe to have it, then we will look at the overseas options. After UAE and Sri Lanka, New Zealand has also offered to host the IPL,” a senior BCCI official told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

Mumbai Indians are the defending champions. The MI franchise is the most successful team who have won the title four times, while CSK have won it thrice.

Kolkata Knight Riders have won it twice while Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won it once.

IPL was slated to begin at the end of March and MI would have taken on CSK in the opening encounter of the tournament at the iconic Wankhede stadium.

The IPL has been held overseas twice. The 2009 edition took place in South Africa while UAE hosted half of the season in 2014 due to the general elections in India. The BCCI could have faced a similar situation in 2019 but it was eventually held in India only.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here