Rohit Sharma.. (Source: BCCI)

Mumbai Indians produced a dominating display as they cruise to a comfortable win over Kolkata Knight Riders in the 32 nd match of IPL 2020 played at Sheikh Zayed International Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Friday.

Kolkata Knight Riders newly appointed captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and decided to bat first. Rahul Tripathi and Shubman Gill came to open the innings for KKR. Trent Boult provided the early breakthrough for Mumbai Indians dismissing dangerous Tripathi with an stunning catch by Surya Kumar Yadav at point. Ishan Kishan missed a golden chance to run out Shubman Gill.

Nathan Coulter Nile playing his first match of this year’s IPL dismissed Nitish Rana down the leg gloving to leave KKR in trouble. At the end of the first six overs, KKR made 33 for 2.

Rahul Chahar came into the attack and got rid of Shubman Gil trying to hit a big shot giving a simple catch to Pollard at long-on. In the same over, the leg spinner dismissed Dinesh Karthik leaving KKR in big trouble. At the end of the first timeout, KKR scored 51 for 4.

Jasprit Bumrah produced a beauty to dismiss dangerous Andre Russell to leave KKR in trouble at 61 for 5. Pat Cummins and Eoin Morgan steadied the ship taking singles and hitting boundaries. At the end of the second timeout, KKR scored 95 for 5.

Pat Cummins and Morgan showed their class with positive stroke play. Cummins took the attack to Trent Boult in the 19 th over to complete his maiden IPL fifty off 35 balls. Both KKR batsmen hit 21 runs off Nathan Coulter Nile in the last over as they put on unbeaten 87 off 57 balls. KKR recovered from a tough position to post 148 for 5 in 20 overs.

Chasing 149 runs to win, Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock provided a flying start putting pressure on KKR bowlers. De Kock looked in brilliant touch hitting boundaries. At the end of the first six overs, Mumbai Indians made 51 for 0.

After the field restrictions, de Kock took the attack to Prasidh Krishna with lovely strokes. Varun Chakravhty bowled a tight first over. At the end of the first timeout, Mumbai Indians looked in complete control at 71 for 0.

After the timeout, de Kock continued his cracking form and completed his fifty off just 25 balls to keep Mumbai Indians in a dominating position. MI openers looked comfortable. Shivam Mavi made the breakthrough for KKR dismissing Rohit Sharma. Rohit and de Kock put on 94 runs for the opening wicket laying a strong foundation.

Surya Kumar Yadav did not contribute many runs today as he was dismissed for 10 by Varun Chakravhty. Hardik Pandya promoted to number 4 looked in decent touch hitting a quickfire 21 off 11 balls while de Kock remained not out on 78 off 44 balls. Pandya and de Kock put on unbeaten 38 runs for the 3 rd wicket. Mumbai Indians won the match by 8 wickets with 19 balls to spare.

For his 78 not out off 44 balls, Quinton de Kock was named the man of the match award. Mumbai Indians 149 for 2 in 16.5 overs (Quinton de Kock 78, Rohit Sharma 35, Varun Chakravhty 1/23) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 148 for 5 in 20 overs ( Pat Cummins 53, Eoin Morgan 39*, Rahul Chahar 2/18) by 8 wickets.