Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma with all the IPL winning trophies (Source: Twitter)

After the end of the auction round for the Indian Premier League of 2020, the teams have now got the final form. This time Mumbai team put more emphasis on foreign players. The first bid was made by the Mumbai team in this auction. The funny thing is that this bid for the base price was not challenged by any other team and last year, Chris Lynn of Kolkata, went to Mumbai only this time for two crores.

Mumbai Indians IPL 2020 squad (Source: Twitter)

The cricket fans of Mumbai have a special eye on the team. The team has won the IPL title the most four times and this time they are the defending champion. In such a situation, the changes in the team can have a special effect on the entire season. Although there was no expectation of any special change in the team this time, there was definitely a curiosity for new purchases.

In Mumbai’s team full of veterans and veteran coaches, the most talked-about purchase was fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile, who was bought by Mumbai for 8 crores. Coulter-Nile could not play last season due to injury in the previous season. Despite having players like Bumrah, Malinga, Trent Bolt in the team, spending 8 crores on Coulter-Nile surprised many.

This year Mumbai released Adam Milne, Alzari Joseph, Barinder Saran, Ben Cuttings, Beuran Hendricks, Evin Lewis, Jason Behrendorff, Pankaj Jaiswal and Yuvraj Singh. In such a situation, there was a great need for a backup bowler in the team. After the auction, the team management told how the injury of the bowlers is a concern in cricket these days due to which the importance of backup bowlers is increasing.

This year the team has fielded Nathan Coulter-Nile (80 million), Chris Lynn (20 million), Saurabh Tiwari (50 million), Fabian Allen (50 million), Mosin Khan (20 million), Prince Balwant Singh (20 million), and Digvijay Deshmukh (20 Lakh).

Mumbai Indians squad:
Batsmen: Rohit Sharma, Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn (Rs 2 crore), Saurabh Tiwary (Rs 50 lakh)

Bowlers: Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Mohsin Khan (Rs 20 lakh), Prince Balwant Rai Singh (Rs 20 lakh), Digvijay Deshmukh (Rs 20 lakh)

All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Nathan Coulter-Nile (Rs 8 crore)

Wicketkeepers: Ishan Kishan, Quinton de Kock, Aditya Tare