SRH win. (Source: BCCI)

Thanks to brilliant performances from Kane Williamson and Jason Holder, Sunrisers Hyderabad held their nerves defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in a thrilling contest played at Sheikh Zayed International Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Friday.

Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner won the toss and decided to field first. It was an ideal start as Jason Holder got rid of RCB captain Virat Kohli down the leg catch by Goswami. Aaron Finch came at number 3 and looked little edgy. Holder struck again to dismiss Devdutt Paddikal with a good catch by Priyam Garg at midwicket. At the end of the first six overs, RCB scored just 32 for 2.

AB de Villiers and Aaron Finch kept the scoreboard ticking with singles. At the end of the first timeout, RCB made 45 for 2. After timeout, Aaron Finch hit the first six to put some pressure on SRH bowlers. Shahbaz Nadeem provided the breakthrough for SRH getting rid of Finch giving a simple catch to Samad at sweeper cover. Finch and de Villers added 41 runs for the 3 rd wicket. Moeen Ali was run out by a brilliant throw by Rashid Khan off no-ball. AB de Villiers looked composed with his stroke play and kept the momentum going while Shivam Dube gave support to him.

Holder was bought into the attack and got rid of Shivam Dube. Dube and de Villiers added 37 runs for the 5 th wicket. With that wicket, the second timeout was called at 99 for 5. De Villiers showed some composure and reached his fifty off 39 balls. T Natarajan produced a superb yorker to dismiss dangerous de Villiers. Mohammed Siraj and Navdeep Saini hit some good runs in the last over helping RCB post 131 for 7 in 20 overs.

Chasing 132 runs to win, Mohammed Siraj dismissed Shreevats Goswami to give RCB a good start. Manish Pandey looked in cracking touch putting the bowlers under pressure. Warner played some lovely shots and made life tough for RCB. Mohammed Siraj got rid of Warner with a review. The umpire gave it not out and after lots of considerations, the umpire gave it out as hit the gloves. At the end of the six overs, SRH scored 48 for 2. Warner and Pandey added 42 runs for the 2 nd wicket.
With that, the first timeout was called.

Adam Zampa and Yuzvendra Chahal troubled SRH batsmen with their variations. Adam Zampa got the breakthrough getting rid of Manish Pandey to put SRH team under pressure. Priyam Garg struggled for timing as the run rate was climbing. Chahal struck to dismiss Garg leaving SRH under immense pressure at 67 for 4.

With things looking tough for SRH, Kane Williamson hit some big shots to create pressure on RCB bowlers. On the other hand, Jason Holder provided good support. At the end of the second timeout, Williamson made 97 for 4.

Devdutt Paddikal could not grab a tough chance to dismiss Kane Williamson. Williamson kept his nerves to complete his fifty off 44 balls. With 9 runs needed to win, Navdeep Saini bowled 2 good deliveries before Holder hit 2 boundaries to help SRH win the match by six wickets with 2 balls to spare. Williamson and Holder added unbeaten 65 runs for the 5 th wicket.

For his match winning of 50* off 44 balls, Kane Williamson was named the man of the match award. SRH will take on Delhi Capitals in the second qualifiers on Sunday.

SRH 132 for 4 in 19.4 overs ( Kane Williamson 50, Jason Holder 24, Siraj 2/28, Zampa 1/12) beat RCB 131 for 7 in 20 overs ( AB de Villiers 56, Aaron Finch 32, Holder 3/25, Natarajan 2/33) by six wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here