Delhi Capitals held their nerves to defeat Sunrisers Hyderabad in a high scoring thriller played at Sheikh Zayed International Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Sunday.

DC captain Shreyas Iyer won the toss and decided to bat first. Marcus Stoinis opened the innings along with Shikhar Dhawan. It was a flying start by DC openers who created pressure on SRH bowlers right from word go. At the end of the first six overs, Delhi Capitals raced to 65 for 0 and the first timeout was taken.

After the timeout, Dhawan and Stoinis continued their attacking approach putting SRH bowlers under pressure. Rashid Khan produced a superb delivery to get rid of Stoinis breaking 86 runs stand for the opening wicket. On the other hand, Dhawan completed his fifty off 26 balls. DC captain Iyer looked little sluggish and could not time the ball. SRH fielding was not up to the mark as they dropped catches and conceded boundaries. At the end of the second timeout, Delhi Capitals made
120 for 1.

Iyer’s struggle ended as Jason Holder dismissed Iyer with a simple catch at mid-off to Manish Pandey. Iyer and Dhawan added 50 runs for the 2 nd wicket. Shimron Hetymer into the playing XI started to hit boundaries putting SRH bowlers under pressure. Rashid Khan was superb with his spell giving away just 26 runs and taking 1 wicket. Shikhar Dhawan’s fine innings came to end as he was dismissed by Sandeep Sharma. Dhawan and Hetymer added 52 runs for the 3 rd wicket. Delhi Capitals
posted 189 for 3 at the end of 20 overs.

Chasing 190 runs to win, Kagiso Rabada got rid of the big fish dismissing Warner hitting the pad and onto the stumps. Manish Pandey and Priyam Garg played some lovely shots to put pressure back on DC bowlers. Marcus Stoinis was bought into the attack striking twice by dismissing Garg and Pandey to leave SRH in trouble at 44 for 3. At the end of the six overs, Sunrisers Hyderabad made 49 for 3.

Kane Williamson continued his cracking form that he displayed in the last match. With the run rate climbing the Kiwis captain Williamson showed his class. At the end of the first timeout, SRH scored 64 for 3.

Axar Patel provided the important breakthrough dismissing Jason Holder. Holder and Williamson added 46 runs for the 4 th wicket. Kane Williamson kept the momentum going with big strokes against their top-quality bowling of Rabada. Samad also joined in the party with lusty blows to keep SRH hopes alive. Williamson completed his fifty off just 35 balls. At the end of the second timeout, SRH scored 139 for 4.

Stoinis was bought into the attack and dismissed the dangerous Kane Williamson. Williamson and Samad added 57 runs for the 5 th wicket. Rashid Khan created pressure on the DC bowlers with good hits against R Ashwin.

Rabada did the job for Delhi Capitals by getting wickets of Samad, Rashid Khan and Goswami to dent SRH chances of winning. With 22 runs required off the final over, Nortje gave away 4 runs giving DC a 17 runs win.

For his all-round efforts with both bat and ball, Marcus Stoinis was named the man of the match award.

Delhi Capitals 189 for 3 in 20 overs ( Shikhar Dhawan 78, Hetymer 42*, Stoinis 38, Rashid Khan 1/26) beat SRH 172 for 8 in 20 overs ( Williamson 67, Samad 33, Rabada 4/29, Stoinis 3/26) by 17 runs.