Jasprit Bumrah picked up four wickets. (Source: BCCI)

Mumbai Indians produced a dominating performance to defeat Delhi Capitals in the first qualifier played at Dubai International Stadium, Dubai on Wednesday. By virtue of this win, MI qualified for the finals to be played on 10 th November.

Delhi Capitals captain Shreyas Iyer won the toss and decided to field first. Quinton de Kock began off to a great start scoring 15 runs off Daniel Sams in the 1 st over. R Ashwin was bought into the attack and got rid of Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma. Surya Kumar Yadav looked in cracking touch and put the DC bowlers under immense pressure. At the end of the first six overs, Mumbai Indians raced away to 63 for 1. With this, the first timeout was called.

It was a great display of batting by de Kock and Surya Kumar Yadav who played DC bowlers brilliantly. Needing to break the partnership, Ashwin bowled slowly as de Kock tried to hit a big shot giving simple catch at long-off to Dhawan. De Kock and Surya Kumar Yadav added 62 runs for the 2nd wicket. Surya Kumar played with intent to complete his fifty off 36 balls. Delhi Capitals made a comeback into the game by taking wickets of Surya Kumar Yadav and dangerous Kieron Pollard.

Nortje got wicket of Surya Kumar while a superb catch by Kagiso Rabada ended the innings for Pollard.

Ishan Kishan struggled initially with his timing. At the end of the second timeout, Mumbai Indians made 108 for 4. Kishan and Krunal Pandya upped the ante with big strokes putting the DC bowlers under immense pressure. Marcus Stoinis dismissed Krunal Pandya off his first ball. Krunal and Ishan Kishan added 39 runs for the 5 th wicket. Hardik Pandya came to the crease blasting away the Delhi Capitals main spearhead.

In the last 3 overs, Hardik Pandya and Kishan scored 55 runs to help Mumbai Indians post a massive total of 200 for 5. Ishan Kishan smashed a six completing his half-century off 30 balls while Pandya scored a quickfire unbeaten 37 off 14 balls. Hardik and Kishan added unbeaten 60 runs for the 6th wicket.

Chasing 201 runs to win, it was not an ideal start for Delhi Capitals as Prithvi Shaw was dismissed by Trent Boult off the 2 nd ball. Boult struck again to get rid of Rahane with an inswinging delivery hitting plumb. Jasprit Bumrah produced a superb yorker dismissing Shikhar Dhawan to leave Delhi Capitals in tatters at 0 for 3.

Marcus Stoinis looked positive with his stroke play and put some pressure on Mumbai Indians bowlers. Bumrah dismissed DC captain Shreyas Iyer to leave DC in disarray. At the end of the first six overs, DC scored 32 for 4.

Rishabh Pant poor form continued as he tried to play a big shot giving a simple catch to Surya Kumar Yadav at long-on. Stoinis took on Rahul Chahar making statement along with Axar Patel. It was a good batting display by Stoinis and Axar who hit some lusty blows.

Stoinis impressed with his strokes to complete his fifty off 36 balls. Jasprit Bumrah was bought into the attack and got rid of Stoinis with a beauty. Stoinis and Axar Patel added 71 runs for the 6 th wicket. With this wicket, Delhi Capitals ended second timeout at 112 for 6.

Bumrah then dismissed Daniel Sams off the very next ball to put the match beyond Delhi Capitals. Kagiso Rabada and Axar Patel provided some entertainment but Mumbai Indians won the match comfortably. For his best figures in IPL of 4 for 14, Jasprit Bumrah was named the man of the match award.

Mumbai Indians 200 for 5 in 20 overs (Ishan Kishan 55*, Surya Kumar Yadav 51, Ashwin 3/29) beat Delhi Capitals 143 for 8 in 20 overs (Marcus Stoinis 65, Axar Patel 42, Bumrah 4/14) by 57 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here