Chris Gayle. (Source: Twitter)

New Delhi: Chris Gayle, who holds his special place in the T20 League around the world due to his explosive batting, could become the first batsman in the world to hit 1000 sixes in this short format of cricket during the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL). Gayle, who hit 326 sixes in IPL, has so far scored 978 sixes in T20 cricket and thus he needs only 22 sixes to touch the magical figure of 1000.

Gayle has played in 11 tournaments in the IPL so far and on 6 of these occasions, he hit more than 22 sixes. Gayle also holds the record for scoring the most fours (1026) in T20s. Gayle did not play in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) due to personal reasons but in the IPL he is set to represent Kings XI Punjab, having scored 34 sixes last year and 27 sixes in 2018.

Gayle is the only batsman to hold the record for most sixes in four IPL tournaments

This blazing Windies batsman made this record by playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2011 (44 sixes), 2012 (59), 2013 (51) and 2015 (38). He will celebrate his 41st birthday on 21 September during the upcoming IPL. The left-handed batsman hit 17 sixes during his record innings of 175 not out against Pune Warriors for RCB in 2013 which is an IPL record. Gayle also holds the record for scoring the most 18 sixes in a T20 match but he did it in the 2017 Bangladesh Premier League. Among the batsmen who hit the most sixes after Gayle in the IPL, AB de Villiers (212) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (209).

In the overall list too, Gayle is followed by another West Indies fanatic Kieron Pollard (672) but he is far behind him. Not only this, most runs (13,296) in T20s, most centuries (22), most fifties (82), the highest score in an innings (175 not out), fastest century (30 balls), highest runs scored in the match from the losing team. (Unbeaten 151), Gayle’s record for most runs in a calendar year (1665 in 2015), the most man of the match (58) and most runs in four innings (154 vs Pune Warriors) in an innings.

He can also set a record during the IPL, which he would never like to throw. This is the record of not being able to open the account the most times in T20, that is, getting out at zero. Gayle has so far failed to open the account 27 times in T20 and in this case, he is joint second with Umar Akmal of Pakistan. In the first place is Dwayne Smith (28) of the West Indies. Interestingly, Gayle also holds the record for most innings (145) in T20s without being dismissed for zero. This record was made between 10 February 2012 and 5 February 2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here