Chris Jordan picked up three wickets for 17 runs. (Source: BCCI)

A superb bowling effort helped Kings XI Punjab defeat Sunrisers Hyderabad in a thrilling encounter played at Dubai International Stadium, Dubai on Saturday.

Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner won the toss and decided to field first. Mandeep Singh came to open the innings along with KL Rahul. Both openers looked positive with their intent putting pressure on SRH bowlers. Sandeep Sharma produced the breakthrough dismissing Mandeep as Rashid takes an easy catch at deep square leg. KXIP openers put on 37 runs for the opening wicket.

Chris Gayle coming at number 3 played some lovely shots and kept the scoreboard ticking. At the end of the first six overs, Kings XI Punjab made 47 for 1. Rashid Khan was bought into the attack as Gayle smacked him for a six. In his next over, Warner decided to review the decision for LBW but it was retained due to ball hitting outside leg. At the end of the first timeout, Kings XI Punjab scored 61 for 1.

After the timeout, Jason Holder provided the breakthrough for SRH dismissing the dangerous Gayle drilling a powerful shot to Warner at long-off. Gayle and Rahul added 29 runs for the 2 nd wicket.

Rashid Khan got rid of inform Rahul with a beauty leaving KXIP in trouble. Glenn Maxwell and Nicolas Pooran steadied the innings somewhat but SRH bowlers kept a tight leash on KXIP batsmen.

Sandeep Sharma got rid of Maxwell who tried to hit a big shot but gave catch to Warner at long- on. Rashid Khan dismissed Deepak Hooda with beautiful stumping by Jonny Bairstow. With that wicket, Kings XI Punjab ended 2 nd timeout at 88 for 5. Kings XI Punjab batsmen could not boundaries for quite some time.

Jason Holder struck for SRH getting rid of Chris Jordan with an easy catch to short fine. A superb direct throw by Vijay Shankar ended the innings for Murgun Ashwin. Nicolas Pooran finally hit a boundary off Khaleel Ahmed’s

Despite Pooran being on strike in the final over, Kings XI Punjab could post 126 for 7 in 20 overs.

Chasing a modest total of 127 runs to win, Jonny Bairstow and David Warner provided a steady start to SRH putting Kings XI Punjab bowlers under pressure. SRH openers looked impressive with their stroke play and kept on course for a win. At the end of six overs, SRH made 52.

Ravi Bishnoi was bought into the attack by KL Rahul and struck immediately dismissing Warner with review. Warner tried to hit a reverse sweep hitting the gloves, but the umpire gave it not out, it was overturned. SRH openers put on 56 runs. In the same over, KL Rahul decided to review the decision for LBW to dismiss Bairstow, but it was retained as it climbing over leg stump. In the next over, Murgun Ashwin put SRH under pressure as he dismissed Jonny Bairstow bowled around the legs.

KL Rahul bought in Mohammed Shami into the attack and dismissed Abdul Samad with a good catch by Chris Jordan at mid-off. With that wicket, SRH ended at 67 for 3.

After the timeout, Manish Pandey and Vijay Shankar steadied the innings taking singles and hitting occasional boundaries. Kings XI Punjab bowlers kept a tight leash not allowing these two experienced batsmen score runs easily. At the end of the second timeout, SRH made 99 for 3.

Chris Jordan provided the breakthrough for Kings XI Punjab getting rid of Manish Pandey with a lovely catch by substitute Suchith at long-off. Pandey and Shankar added 33 runs for the 4 th wicket.

Vijay Shankar got hurt as Pooran missed a run out chance hitting the helmet. Soon after that, Arshdeep Singh dismissed Shankar to leave SRH in trouble.

Chris Jordan bowled a stunning 19 th over giving away just 3 runs and taking 2 wickets. He got rid of Jason Holder slicing catch to Mandeep Singh at extra cover, then dismissing Rashid Khan to leave SRH in trouble.

With 13 runs required off 6 balls, Arshdeep dismissed Sandeep Sharma and Priyam Garg with good deliveries. A superb throw by Ravi Bishnoi to run out Khaleel Ahmed helped Kings XI Punjab register a remarkable 12 runs win.

Kings XI Punjab 126 for 7 in 20 overs ( Nicholas Pooran 32*, Rashid Khan 2/14, Sandeep Sharma 2/29) beat SRH 114 in 19.5 overs ( Warner 35, Vijay Shankar 26, Chris Jordan 3/17, Arshdeep Singh 3/23) by 12 runs.

For his superb spell of 3 for 17 in 4 overs, Chris Jordan was named the man of the match award.