New Zealand defeated India in the first Test. (Source: Twitter)

Host New Zealand has won the first Test match from India. They defeated India by 10 wickets in this match played in Wellington on Monday. With this victory, New Zealand took an unbeatable lead of 1–0 in the two-match series. This is New Zealand’s 100th win in Test cricket. It took them 90 years to reach this goal. The second Test between India and New Zealand will now be played in Christchurch from 29 February.

New Zealand has become the seventh Test team in the world to win 100 Tests. The Kiwi team has been playing Test cricket since 1930. They have played a total of 441 Tests so far. They have won 100 of these Test matches. New Zealand has lost 175 Test matches so far. The remaining 166 matches are drawn. Apart from New Zealand, Australia, England, West Indies, South Africa, Pakistan and India have won 100 Test matches.

Overall, Australia has won the most Test matches in the world. They are at number one after winning 393 Test matches in 830. England team is second with 371 wins. Apart from Australia and England, no team has won more than 200 Test matches. Australia won the 100th Test match in 1951. Then they became the first team to do so. It took them 74 years to win 100 Tests.

India at number five and Pakistan at number six
India has won 157 of 541 Test matches. They are at number five in terms of winning the most Test matches. Apart from Australia, England, West Indies and South Africa have also won more Test matches than India. West Indies have won 174 and South Africa 165 Tests. Pakistan has won 138 Test matches. They are at number six in terms of winning the most Test matches.

India was cheap in both innings
Talking about the match, New Zealand won the toss and bowled first. India put on 165 in the first innings and 191 in the second innings. New Zealand had scored 348 runs in the first innings. In this way, they got a lead of 183 runs in the first innings. After putting India cheaply in the second innings, New Zealand got a target of 9 runs to win, which they achieved without losing wickets.