“Everybody knew the rule what the rules are of super over,” said a sports commentator while discussing about the high-voltage drama that unveiled during the World Cup 2019 final between England and New Zealand at Lord’s
This was the first time that the ICC had introduced Super Over to decide the winner in the knockouts if the match ends in a tie.
Interestingly, the final of this World Cup edition did end in a tie and went into the Super Over. The super over subsequently created more drama and brought a lot of criticism for the ICC for their rules and regulations.
New Zealand had to chase 16 in 6 deliveries but they only managed 15, thus ending the Super Over in a tie but this time England were the champions because they had hit more boundaries in the encounter than New Zealand.
The rule says if the super over also ends in a tie, the winner is decided by the number of boundaries scored in the match.
Now looking at the rules, the Super Over concept has been working in this manner for a very long time. The ICC might have come up with some unusual rules in the past but as far as this one is concerned, one can’t really question it.
There were no alterations made regarding the Super Over and it ended in the same manner. If we go by the rule-book, England were the clear winners without any controversies.
Note: Before 1 October 2010, super overs ending in a tie had the winner first decided by the number of boundary sixes the teams hit in both innings, then by the sixes hit in the main match.