Australia won their first World cup in 1987. (Source: Twitter)

It all started in 1975 when West Indies lifted the inaugural ODI World cup to create history. The Caribbean squad under the leadership of Clive Lloyd continued their reign and repeated the 1975 feat in 1979 too.

But India in 1983 broke this World Cup winning streak of West Indies when the Kapil Dev led team India were crowned world champions at Lord’s.

Three World cups done but one of the finest powers of world cricket, Australia still persisted a drought of having a World cup in their hall of fame.

The 1987 edition of the supreme tournament was hosted in the sub-continent, India being the major host.

Australia and England made it to the finals an it was Allan Border’s best 11 men who showed some fascinating display of the game.

Eden Garden’s witnessed one of the most exciting cricketing clashes on that particular day when David Boon’s 75 guided Australia to a respectable 253 in their allotted 50 overs. Other batsmen too contributed with some decent scores but none of them were able to build upon the starts they acquired.

England’s chase started off in the most destructive manner as they faced early breakthrough.

Though, the Englishmen lost their first wicket at a score of only 1 on the board, the pundits consider that Mike Gatting’s reverse sweep was the main reason for their defeat.

Gatting while trying to go for a reverse sweep off Allan Border gave a sitter to Greg Dyer.

Aussies eventually won the final and the World cup by 7 runs.