MI. (Source: BCCI)

Mumbai Indians were once allowed to play five foreigner players during the 2011 now-defunct Champions league.

The Indian players such as Sachin Tendulkar (injured toe), Rohit Sharma (finger injury) and Munaf Patel (ruled out before the tournament started). The rest of the squad players too, such as Aditya Tare, Pawan Suyal, Ali Murtaza, Dhawal Kulkarni and Suryakumar Yadav were ruled out just before the Champions League T20 began.

“The CLT20 governing council has approved a recommendation by the technical committee that to ensure the integrity of the tournament the Mumbai Indians will be permitted to select up to five overseas players in any one team, provided those players were contracted to play in the 2011 IPL,” the CLT20 technical committee stated.