Pakistan were bundled out for 105 against West Indies in the first match of the World Cup 2019.

On 31st May 2019, West Indies crushed Pakistan in the 2nd match of the 2019 World Cup game played at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and decided to field first. Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul- Haq began off to a steady start putting on 17 runs. Sheldon Cottrell dismissed Imam for 2 caught down the leg.

Andre Russell was bought into the attack in the 6th over and struck immediately to dismiss Zaman with a quick bouncer which hit Fakhar helmet onto the stumps. A one-handed catch by Shai Hope ended Haris Sohail innings. At the end of 10 overs, Pakistan were in trouble at 45 for 3.

After the power play overs, Oshane Thomas, Jason Holder and Andre Russell wreaked havoc among the Pakistani batsmen. Thomas picked Babar Azam, Mohammed Hafeez, Shadab Khan. Wahab Riaz played a quickfire cameo scoring 18 off 11 balls. Thomas dismissed Riaz to bowl out Pakistan for a paltry total of 105 in just 21.4 overs. Oshane Thomas finished with figures of 4 for 27 in 5.4 overs, Andre Russell 2 for 4 in 3 overs, Jason Holder 3 for 42 in 5 overs and Sheldon Cottrell 1 for 18 in 4 overs.

Chasing 106 runs to win, Chris Gayle was in some serious form right from the word go. On the other hand, Shai Hope made 11 runs off 17 balls. Hope and Gayle added 36 runs in 4.3 overs. Mohammed Aamir got his 2nd wicket getting the wicket of Darren Bravo. At the end of 10 overs, West Indies were in firm control with 71 for 2.

Gayle was struggling with cramps but completed his fifty off 33 balls. Aamir dismissed Gayle for a superb 50 off 34 balls which included 6 fours and 3 sixes. Nicolas Pooran and Shimron Hetymer completed the formalities as they added unbeaten 31 runs for the 4th wicket. As a result, West Indies on the match by 7 wickets with 218 balls to spare.

For his fiery spell of 4 for 27, Oshane Thomas was awarded the man of the match.

West Indies 108 for 3 in 13.4 overs (Chris Gayle 50, Nicolas Pooran 34*, Mohammad Aamir 3/26) beat Pakistan 105 in 21.4 overs (Fakhar Zaman 22, Babar Azam 22, Wahab Riaz 18, Oshane Thomas 4/27, Jason Holder 3/42) by 7 wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here