Clive Lloyd-led West Indies wont the 1975 WC.

Under the captaincy of Clive Llyod, West Indies defeated Australia to win the inaugural edition of the Prudential World Cup played at Lords, London on 21st June 1975.

Australian captain Ian Chappell won the toss and decided to field first. The decision paid off as Dennis Lillee got an early breakthrough dismissing Roy Fredricks via a hit-wicket. Jeff Thomson and Gilmour produced two more wickets of Alvin Kallicharan and Sir Gordon Greenidge to put West Indies under pressure at 50 for 3.

West Indies Sir Clive Llyod and Rohan Kanhai steadied the innings with positive stroke play. The left- handed Clive took on the Australian bowlers keeping the scoreboard ticking. On the other hand, Kanhai played the supporting role. Gilmour got an important breakthrough getting rid of Clive Llyod for a superb 102 off 85 balls with 12 fours and 2 sixes. Llyod and Kanhai added 149 runs for the 4th wicket.

After completing his half-century, Kanhai was also dismissed by Gilmour. Gilmour struck again to put West Indies under pressure at 209 for 6.

Keith Boyce and BD Julien put up an important partnership of 52 runs for the 7th wicket. Jeff Thompson dismissed Boyce for 34 off 47 balls. Deryck Murray scored a quickfire 14 off 10 balls to help West Indies post 291 for 8 in 50 overs.

Chasing 292 runs to win, Rick McCosker and Alan Turner started off cautiously. Boyce made the breakthrough for West Indies dismissing McCosker for just 7. The Australian openers added 25 runs. Ian Chappell came to the crease and played with positive intent along with Turner. A brilliant run-out by Richards ended Turner’s innings. Turner and Chappell added 56 runs for the 2nd wicket.

The Chappell brother came together added 34 runs for the 3rd wicket. Another brilliant run out by Richards ended Greg Chappell’s innings. Doug Walters and Ian Chappell played with positive intent taking on the West Indies bowlers. Chappell completed his half-century to keep Australia on course.

The third run-out ended the innings for Ian Chappell. Ian Chappell and Walters added 47 runs for the 4th wicket.

The West Indies bowlers kept picking wickets at regular intervals to reduce Australia at 233 for 9. Jeff Thompson and Dennis Lillee played attacking strokes that created pressure on West Indies bowlers.

Murray got rid of Jeff Thompson to bowl out Australia for 274 in 58.4 overs. Thompson and Lillee added 41 runs for the final wicket. Out of the 10 dismissals, 5 resulted in run-outs.

For his superb 102 off 85 balls, Sir Clive Llyod was awarded the man of the match. West Indies 291 for 8 in 60 overs (Sir Clive Llyod 102, Rohan Kanhai 55, Gilmour 5/48, Jeff Thompson 2/44) beat Australia 274 in 58.4 overs (Ian Chappell 62, Alan Turner 40, Keith Boyce 4/50) by 17 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here